Wednesday 14 April 2021
  • :
  • :

Racing to victory with Old Mutual

This weekend will see the annual Old Mutual Victory Race hosted in the capital city, Windhoek kicking off from the Tony Rust Race Track from 07h00.
The race in existence since the year 2000 has been growing in leaps and bounds for 19 years.
The Old Mutual Foundation supports and invests in local athletes through the Victory Race Series in areas such as education, community development, skills capacity development and health.
Annually, the foundation invests N$1 million towards the success of the Victory Race Series alongside co-sponsors Coca-Cola Namibia Bottling Company and others.
The race this year is set to take place tomorrow 18 August 2019 at 12:00 at the Tony Rust Race Track. The race will take place along the Daan Viljoen Road which will be clearly marked on the day of the event. Races are held in different parts of the country; at the coast in Swakopmund, in the south at Keetmanshoop, in the north at Oshakati and finally culminating in the capital city, Windhoek.
Crowd favourites Helalia Johannes and 2018 male champion Reinhold Thomas are expected to be in form to contest for the top positions for the male and female category respectively. This will be the 19th Old Mutual Victory Race in Namibia.
Says Angula Ndatala, Marketing and Communications officer for Old Mutual, “we are very proud to be able to host this event for the 19th year running. We urge the nation to keep a look out for the races for next year. Twenty years is a milestone for us and the races are going to be bigger and better come 2020.”
Registration and the collecting of numbers the for races will take place today at Old Mutual Wernhil Park and the races on the day are as follows:
21 km Race – Starts at 7:00am, 10 km Race – Starts at 7:30am and the 5 km Walk/Run – Starts at 8:00am.

Prizes are as follows:
In the 21 km race (male and female individual participants)
1st place – N$ 8000
2nd place – N$ 5000
3rd place – N$ 3000

In the 10 km race (male and female individual participants)
1st place – N$ 3000
2nd place – N$ 2000
3rd place – N$ 1000

In the 5 km race (male and female individual participants)
1st place – N$ 1000
2nd place – N$ 750
3rd place – N$ 500

Additionally, prizes will be awarded to corporate participants for ‘best branded corporate’ as well as ‘corporate with the most participants’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *