Friday 23 April 2021
  • :
  • :

Brave Gladiators head to COSAFA

By Staff Reporter

Uerikondjera Kasaona was appointed as coach of Namibia’s woman football team on Tuesday and will have the task of guiding the Brave Gladiators past Zambia, Botswana and Mauritius in Group B of the 2019 COSAFA Women Championship. Robert Nauseb has been appointed as her assistant and former interim coach Brian Isaacs takes up the role of Technical Advisor for the Gladiators.
The games kick off in Port Elizabeth, South Africa from 31 July 2019.
Kasona was recently quoted as saying, “I am well prepared because getting this opportunity to coach a tournament of such magnitude has always been a dream. As a former player, I know what is expected of me and I am confident I will be able to not only coach but also advice accordingly.”
On Wednesday, Cosafa conducted the draw for the championship. The three group winners, followed by the best second runner-up will qualify for the semi-finals.
Defending champions South Africa have been drawn in a group with Comoros Islands, who qualify for the first time, together with Malawi and Madagascar.
Group C consists of Zimbabwe who are up against Mozambique, Angola and eSwatini.
Since only the top team in each pool advances to the semi-finals, along with the best second-place finisher, there is very little room for error or an off-day for any of the teams.
Further, the COSAFA Women’s Under-20 Championship is a competition that provides players in this age-group the opportunity to showcase their talent.
Coach Mervin Mbakera will start the Young Gladiators’ run with clashes against South Africa, Zimbabwe and Malawi in Group A.
Group B consists of Botswana, Zambia, Tanzania and sSwatini and will be highly contested.
The two tournaments will run side-by-side, with matches to be played at Wolfson and Gelvandale stadiums.
There has been an increase is support for and the popularity of Women’s football globally, and southern Africa is no exception.
Called up are players are: Lydia Eixas, Melissa Matheus, Agnes Kauzuu, Rejoice Tjituere, Ndapewa Katuta, Selma Enkali ,Lorraine Jossop, Lydiana Nanamus, Veronica Van Wyk, Emma Naris, Lovisa Mulunga, Veweziwa Kotjipati, Kamunikire Tjituka, Ivone Kooper, Twelikondjele Amukoto, Tomalina Adams, Milicent Hikuam, Zenatha Colemann, Juliana Blou, Elmarie Fredericks, Anoushcka Kordom, Asteria Angula, Eva Uulumbu, Meltret Ujamba, Lydia Ligamena Naluno, Anna-Marie Shikusho, Beverly Uueziua, Memory Ngonda, Fiola Vliete and Kylie Van Wyk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *