Friday 14 May 2021
  • :
  • :

Geingob to announce diplomatic changes

President Hage Geingob will bring a number of ambassadors back to Namibia in an unprecedented move designed to make room for his plan to dispatch new diplomats to represent Namibia on the international arena.
Senior government officials who are familiar with the changes being enforced said heads of mission – which includes the nation’s ambassadors, high commissioners and consuls-general – will return as the government looks to reset how Namibia navigates its foreign, trade and development policies on the global stage.
The changes come at a time when Namibia attempts to steer a course through an increasingly turbulent foreign landscape, which includes the Trump presidency, US-China trade war, anti-trade sentiment and global terrorism challenges.
The Patriot has managed to get a glimpse of some of the postings.
Permanent Secretary in the Presidency Samuel Goagoseb will be posted to Cuba.
His counterpart at the Ministry of Trade Gabriel Sinimbo is said to be on his way to India to head that mission.
Namibia’s Ambassador to Ethiopia Monica Nashandi is tipped to head Namibia’s mission in Washington. Mission heads such as those from Cuba(Shaanika), India(Pius Dunaiski), Sweden(Morina Muuondjo) have already indicated their imminent return on the respective Namibian Embassy Facebook pages.
Others have already held farewell parties as well.
Former presidential spokesperson Albertus Aochamub is expected to take over Namibia’s top diplomatic baton in France.
The Patriot reported in June that mission heads such as Grace Uushona(Angola), Frieda Ithete(France), Leonard Nambahu(Zambia) and Jerobeam Shaanika (Cuba) all received their letters of recall.
Information emanating from the Presidency also indicate that some of those who have been recalled include Peingeondjabi Shipoh (Nigeria), and Sophia-Namupa Nangombe (Japan).
It is understood that 31 October 2018 is the cut-off date for the affected diplomats.
Ambassadors and High Commissioners are posted for four years, after which the President has the power to recall or redeploy them.
Most of the returning ones are above the retirement age, while those below 60 are expected to take up the gaps left by their successors. The President also has the power not to redeploy or reappoint.
The President is expected to announce the changes in the composition of Namibia’s top diplomats before next Wednesday.
In September 2013, then President Hifikepunye Pohamba appointed Peingeondjabi Shipoh as High Commissioner to Nigeria, Steve Katjiuanjo as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom, Wilbard Hellao as Ambassador to the Democratic Republic of Congo, Balbina Daes Pienaar as Ambassador to Zimbabwe, Pius Dunaiski as High Commsioner to India, Sophia Nangombe as Ambassador to Japan, Dr Jerobeam Shaanika as Ambassador to the Republic of Cuba. Morina Muuondjo was appointed Ambassador to Sweden, Sabine Bohlke-Moller as Ambassador to the United Nations Office in Geneva and other International Organisations in Switzerland and Simon Maruta as Ambassador to Austria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *