Wednesday 21 April 2021
  • :
  • :

Central Procurement Board members sworn-in

The newly-appointed Central Procurement Board members took their oath of office in the High Court yesterday.Administered by Judge President Petrus Damaseb, the members vowed to fulfill their mandates in all truth and honesty.Finance minister Calle Schlettwein also attended the swearing-in ceremony. The board will be responsible to ensure that public procurement procedures are conducted efficiently and in a transparent manner.Board chair Patrick Swartz told the media soon after the ceremony that the board will not takeover the procurement responsibilities of public enterprises.“The procurement responsibilities will still lie with the state companies, they will have to initiate the process of referring tenders to the board, especially those that meet the set thresholds,” he said.The new Central Procurement Board replaces the former Tender Board of Namibia which was legally dissolved on 31 March 2017.

The new members were sworn-in as per the provisions of Section 75 of the Public Procurement Act 15 of 2015, read with regulation 58 of the Public Procurement Regulations that requires that members of the Central Procurement Board should subscribe to an oath or affirmation before or by a Judge of the High Court of Namibia designated by a Judge-President of the High Court.The new board consists of nine members. The chairperson and the deputy chairperson will be employed on a full-time basis for a period of five years and as such will be entitled to a monthly salary. The seven board members will be appointed on a part-time basis on three-year contracts.University of Namibia accounting lecturer, Patrick Swartz was appointed as chairperson while another accountant, Lischen Ramakutla, was appointed deputy chairperson.The other members include former Motor Vehicle Accident (MVA) Fund Chief Executive Officer Jerry Mwadinohamba, Finance Deputy Permanent Secretary Titus Ndove and engineers Epaphras Pendapala, Maria Iyambo and Hendrik Cronje. Maria Nakale and Hilja Nandago-Herman, who both have legal background, are the other members of the board.The Review Board Panel that consists of former Social Security Commission Chief Executive Officer Kenandei Tjivikua (chairperson), consumer activist Michael Gawaseb (deputy chairperson), Ono-Robby Nangolo, Amon Ngavetene, Selma    -Penna Utonih and Toska Sem.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *