Friday 14 May 2021
  • :
  • :

NAMA Nominees Announced

IMG_9880The Namibia Annual Music Awards 2017 nominees are out and the rumour mill has started. Some are bitter, as always, while others seem to have the ‘be grateful’ memo just  right. Alike to the year Linda won awards left, right and centre; this year’s awards are dominated by newcomers, which signals growth within the music industry but also serves as an eyebrow raiser.

What cannot be taken away is the fact that Young T is finally on the nominations ballot papers. The music industry has been on the cry for a long time questioning why the talented young lad has been elbowed out for two years. Many are now breathing a sigh of relief, ‘finally Young T made it to the NAMAs.’ Young T features in categories such as Album of the Year, Best Kwaito, Best Rap/Hip-hop, Radio Song of the Year and Song of the Year. The artist however seem to have wanted more with his hit song speaking against GBV. Mysteriously the song did not make it for the Best Song with a Message category.

Newcomer Bradley Anthony tops the nominations list with 8 nominations. The rookie seems to be doing his thing low-key in top categories such as Best Newcomer, Best Male artist, RnB and others. Award analysts have questioned the popularity of the artist who seem to have penetrated the awards and industry with a bang. Such is Jaleel who is in Best Newcomer and Best Male Artist of the Year categories.

Anthony is followed by Oteya who bags 7 nominations and then Adora with 6. Adora has been in the industry for some time but only decided to go solo last year with her debut album ‘As I Am.’ Other fresh songstresses who also top the nomination tallies are Priscilla, and Monique English who all have to prove themselves against the likes of Oteya, Sally and Lady May who are NAMA stage habituals.

Sally Boss Madam has over the years worked hard besides being ignored by the previous NAMAs and many feel this is her year. The ‘Natural’ queen boasts 5 nominations featuring in Song of the Year, Best Musical Event of the Year, Radio Song of the Year, Best Single and Best Music Video.

It’s also worth adding that Sunny Boy and Jericho are back. The due have been on a musical sleep for some time and the NAMAs can only get better with a breath from these gurus.

The Best Acapella category has been dropped from the NAMAs due to consistent low entries over the past 3 years.

From the Done Deal Records, Antonio’s songstresses Monique English, Doris and Florence are all nominated for Best Female Artist of the Year. It will be interesting how the stable as a whole and the individuals respectively will compete with Adora, Oteya and Priscilla for the prize money.

There is no The Dogg this year and the best explanation is that he does not have new material, just as it was the case with Gazza last year. The Kwaito master is however proud that his boys Young T and Chester feature in the awards. “I’m happy that they are nominated. It is a sign that we are doing great music hence the recognition,” he said.

2015 Male artist of the Year and NAMA dominant force is back on the nomination charts and it can only mean the competition is on. Gazza takes 5 nominations with hit album ‘Pumumu’ that has been rocking the airwaves over the past months.

Gazza said he is happy to be nominated, a sign that he is producing good music, but he is particularly excited for the emerging dominance of the newcomers. “This is a sign that the music industry is growing, which is what we need.” The ‘Swagga’ author emphasized the importance of remaining relevant saying it takes a lot of hard work. “Good things take time. Art is not a competition. It depends on the preference of the people. It is both therapeutic and displays talent. I have been here for long so I do not need to impress anymore.”

Before endorsing his favourites for the awards, Gazza urged artists to work hard and look up to bigger artists to see what they are doing right. “One hit song is not enough in Namibia.” On Gazza’s list, he would love to see the likes of Sally, KP Illest, and Adora be rewarded for their hard work.

The total investment of the 2017 Namibian Annual Music awards is N$17 million with MTC investing N$7 million in cash, other sponsors N$2.1 million and the remaining being NBC’s broadcasting cost. Co-sponsors Tafel Lite leads the pack with a total cash investment of N$500 000 followed by the Walvis Bay Municipality N$325,000, National Arts Council of Namibia N$300 000, Standard Bank N$250 000, Air Namibia N$250,000 in kind, NDTC N$125 000, J&P Group of Companies N$100 000, Power Play N$90 000, NWR N$60 000, NASCAM, N$50 000, Namibia Film Commission N$60 000, NWR N$60 000 and NDC as venue sponsor.

Voting for the public vote categories are now officially open.

VIP tickets sell for only N$500 while general tickets sell for only N$250, Golden circle standing tickets for only N$150.

Public Vote Categories

Vote for your favourite Song of the Year by SMS’ing the shortcode to 66262 (SMSs cost N$2)

Song of the Year
Chester – Sabi (SOY1)
Lady May, Dr Sid & Pex Africah – I Can’t Explain (SOY2)
Promise – Dogo Dogo (SOY3)
Sally Boss Madam – Natural (SOY4)
Young T – Fikulimwe (SOY5)

Pan African Artist of the Year
DJ Maphorisa (AAY1)
Cassper Nyovest (AAY2)
Yemi Alade (AAY3)
Heavy K (AAY4)
Runtown (AAY5)

Best Live Performance of the Year
Adora – MS Diamond Festival (BLP1)
Bradley Anthony – CD Launch (BLP2)
KP Illest – 2016 Namibian Music Awards (BLP3)
Priscilla Namibian Dessert Queen – CD Launch (BLP4)
Maranatha – Benjamin Dube Show (BLP5)

Best Musical Event of the Year
Doctatainment – Windhoek Spring Fiesta All White Edition (BME1)
KK – Kaleidoscope/Bermuda Music Album Release Party (BME2)
Oteya – Ondeya/Vigo National Tour (BME3)
Ras Sheehama – Birthday Bash (BME4)
Sally Boss Madam – Woman Crush Wednesday (BME5)

Radio DJ of The Year
Che Ulenga (RDJ1)
DJ Maldini (RDJ2)
Jan De Waal (RDJ3)
Lukas Nambala (RDJ4)
Nashawn (RDJ5)

Entertainment Journalist of the Year NBC
Adolf Kaure (EJY1)
June Shimuoshili (EJY2)
Melba Chipepo (EJY3)
Rukee Kaakunga (EJY4)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *