Monday 12 April 2021
  • :
  • :

2016 Cabinet Ratings

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-10-41-09-am screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-10-41-17-am screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-10-41-29-am screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-10-41-41-am screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-10-41-51-am
The worst and best performing ministers
2016 was declared as the year of implementation by President Hage Geingob’s administration, and although some work was done, more still needs to be done to win the war against poverty.
In line with past trends, Government has managed to formulate good policies that are well-intended, but when it comes to implementing those policies continue to be a challenge.
Several ministries have also exposed instances of disconnect within Cabinet whereby ministers openly differ on issues that ought to have been resolved in Cabinet.
Most were graded between C and U ratings.
No-one was worth an A in The Patriot’s in-house scorecard.
With Namibia facing crises on many fronts, including water, tribalism, rising unemployment, slow economic growth and the worst drought in decades, the president has done little more than held talk shows in the face of struggling Namibians.
Several measurable targets include attendance and attitude, administration, finance and organisational skills, and policy direction.
Prime Minister: Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila–C
Minister in the Presidency in charge of the National Planning Commission: Tom Alweendo–C
Minister of Presidential Affairs: Frans Kapofi–D
Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah–C
Minister of Finance: Calle Schlettwein–B
Minister of Defence: Penda ya Ndakolo–F
Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration: Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana–C
Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation: Itah Murangi-Kandjii–D
Minister of Education, Arts and Culture: Katrina Hanse-Himarwa–E
Minister of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development: Immanuel Ngatjizeko–D
Minister of Urban and Rural Development: Sophia Shaningwa–D
Minister of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare: Bishop Zephania Kameeta–E
Minister of Health and Social Services: Berhard Haufiku–B
Minister of Works and Transport: Alpheus !Naruseb–D
Minister of Safety and Security: Charles Namoloh–D
Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry: John Mutorwa–D
Minister of Land Reform: Uutoni Nujoma–F
Minister of Information and Communication Technology: Tjekero Tweya–E
Minister of Gender Equality and Child Welfare: Doreen Sioka–E
Minister of Justice: Albert Kawana–F
Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation: Erkki Nghimtina–D
Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources: Bernhard Esau–D
Minister of Mines and Energy: Obed Kandjoze–D
Minister of Environment and Tourism: Pohamba Shifeta–D
Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service: Jerry Ekandjo–U
Minister of Public Enterprises: Leon Jooste—C

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *