Thursday 17 June 2021
  • :
  • :

Rookies steal NAMAs limelight – review

This year’s NAMAs came for their annual visit but with bigger rolling luggage. Whether one watched it live on NBC or at the Namibianised textile buildings of Ramatex, you cannot but give the event credit. It was yet again another living testimony that the Namibian music fraternity continues to grow and celebrates real talent. Well, when it comes to real talent, the highlights of this year’s NAMAs was the feeling of a breath of fresh air   with new names elbowing the gurus out to take on big awards.
Talking about rookies, to serve the NAMAs table this year were the likes of Chikune, Christopher The Grand, Makurunganga, Belinda Miss Bee Apollus, Ann Singer, Tswazis, Female Donkey, Tripple T and Ama-Daz-Floor. Chikune’s ‘In With The New’ earned her the musical lioness award of Best Female artist of the Year on the very last day of the awards – good things indeed come to those who wait. What turned out a surprise to many was the return of the ‘Moro-moro’ architect Big Ben himself to take on the Best Male Artist Award this year. While many may debate this award, true listeners of music in depth will agree that Big Ben has for some time now produced very mature albums that need nothing but recognition. Big Ben recently showered music lovers with his hit album ‘Back to the basics’ and it should be no doubt to those who know good music that he took the award. As if this was not enough, Big Ben doubled his victory by taking Best Traditional.
The awards also reminded us about the existence of VMSIX who scooped the Best Single award and Ras Sheehama with Best Reggae.
Speaking about rookies, the NAMAs reminded us of the year when Linda made a shopping spree of awards and placed several question marks on the viewers faces. This time around, songstress Ann Singer placed her hands on both Best Newcomer of the Year, Best Album of the Year with ‘Bulletproof’, Best RnB and Best Afro Pop awards. With an entrance like that, surely Namibians can’t wait to hear more from her.
Song producer and guru Araffath Muhuure was no surprise for the evening as he comfortably took the Best Producer Award. What was a surprise however was the exclusion of artist like Swart Baster, Freeda, Exit, Sunny Boy, Diop and Kanibal – all losing out to new lads and dominant gurus.
D-Naff walked away with previously Uno Boy and Exit’s consolation award of  Most Disciplined Artist of the Year beating the category contestants of Satlam, Sunny Boy, Lize Ehlers and Paradox. There was also disappointment in the GMP camp when Gazza only scooped the Radio Song of the Year after losing the Best Music Video to KK & Desmond. This was despite his breathtaking performance. This year’s NAMAs were indicative of the seasons in the music industry as the drought turned his way.
At an event where music speaks the loudest, Lize Ehlers’ social responsibility earned her the Most Socially Responsible Artist of the Year. The archives also saved her for her performance at the Windhoek Jazz Festival that got her the Best Live Performance of the Year.
Kwaito master The Dogg who has been in the drought cloud over the year only taking one award here and there was the master this year.The Dogg bagged his genre awards of Best Kwaito, Song of the year and Best House to make his state
And yes, Rinelda Mouton did it again by putting her talented writing hands on the Entertainment Journalist of the Year. Rinelda elbowed competitors such as Gordon Joseph, Selma Neshiko and Mauritz Goaiseb. These are the people the nation trust to inform and educate them on entertainment news.
Just like last year’s surprise performance of The Dogg and Gazza, this year’s awards went down memory lane by bringing Gal Level and Matongo Family a presence many have missed. Lady May also came on to show that she was better than ever before! To MTC/NBC  a job well done.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *