Wednesday 14 April 2021
  • :
  • :

SADC Council of Ministers meeting ends


The meeting of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) Council of Ministers ended in Gaborone on Tuesday. Preceded by preparatory technical meetings, the event discussed issues related to the process of industrialisation in the region, the acceleration of the establishment of the free trade area and other issues related to drought affecting some member countries. Participants recommended the member states to regularly submit information that help determine the assistance to the needy. They have also acknowledged there are still some weaknesses in the internal register control mechanisms, as well as misuse of the financial contributions from member states. SADC member states are South Africa, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Seychelles, Madagascar, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zimbabwe and Zambia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *